in Chapter XXVII, p. 1019 of the 1931 Year Book, public lands in all provinces are now under provincial administration. In Prince Edward Island, all the land is alienated and there are no provincial public lands.

Those interested in securing information regarding provincial public lands are referred to the following officials of the respective provinces: Minister of Lands and Forests, Halifax, N.S.; Deputy Minister of Lands and Mines, Fredericton, N.B.; Deputy Minister of Lands and Forests, Quebec, Que.; Deputy Minister of Lands and Forests, Toronto, Ont.; Director of Lands, Department of Mines and Natural Resources, Winnipeg, Man.; Director of Lands, Department of Natural Resources, Regina, Sask.; Director of Lands, Department of Lands and Mines, Edmonton, Alta.; Deputy Minister of Lands, Victoria, B.C.

Section 2.—National Defence.

Before the outbreak of the Great War, the Canadian Militia consisted of a Permanent Force, which on Mar. 31, 1914, numbered 3,000 officers, non-commissioned officers, and men, and an Active Militia, which at the same date numbered 5,615 officers and 68,991 non-commissioned officers and men. After the outbreak of war on Aug. 4, 1914, successive contingents of troops of all arms were recruited, equipped, trained, and dispatched by the Dominion Government to England for active service. When hostilities ceased on Nov. 11, 1918, there had been sent overseas, for active service in the Canadian Expeditionary Force, about 418,000 officers, non-commissioned officers, and men.* In addition to these, several thousand Canadians served with the Royal Air Force.

Organization.—Prior to 1922, three departments of the Canadian Government were concerned with the defence of Canada, *viz.*, the Department of Militia and Defence, the Department of the Naval Service, and the Air Board.

During the session of 1922, the National Defence Act was passed, consolidating the Department of Militia and Defence, the Department of the Naval Service, and the Air Board into the Department of National Defence. This Act became effective by proclamation on Jan. 1, 1923. Under it, there is a Minister of National Defence and a Deputy Minister of National Defence. To advise the Minister, a Defence Council has been constituted by Order in Council, consisting of a President (the Minister), a Vice-President (the Deputy Minister), and the following members: the Chief of the General Staff, the Chief of the Naval Staff, and the Senior Air Officer, Royal Canadian Air Force. The Adjutant-General, the Quartermaster-General, the Master-General of the Ordnance, and the Judge Advocate-General, are associate members. There is also a Secretary of the Council.

Subsection 1.—The Naval Service.

The Naval Service of Canada was established by the Naval Service Act, 1910 (9-10 Edw. VII, c. 43), the main provisions of which were described in the 1910 Year Book, pp. xxvi-xxix.

^{*} For the detailed expenditures of the Dominion Government on account of war appropriations in the fiscal years 1915-21, see the Canada Year Book, 1921, p. 798.